The County Clerk is the official keeper of all public records for the County. The Clerk's office is responsible for processing all real property transactions, plats, Commissioner's Journal Documents, Board of Property Tax Appeal petitions and orders for Baker County. It must decipher complex legal documents, assess technical problems presented by the public and government entities, and manage records as prescribed by Oregon Revised Statutes. It analyzes, interprets and applies Federal and State statutes, legal opinions and administrative rules. The budget document must submit a copy of their budget to the County Clerk.

In addition to processing all records of public transactions, the Clerks Office maintains the microfilm collection that preserves all records and makes this information assessable to the general public.

As the chief election official, the County Clerk must check ballot measures for timeliness and see that the measure is worded as required by law. The Clerks office plans, coordinates, and conducts all elections in Baker County. It ensures that elections are conducted according to statute and other related requirements. It directs the preparation and maintenance of records related to voting activities, precincting, polling places, mailing, and voter and candidate services. The Clerk's Office provides uniformity in the application, operation, and interpretation of election laws and assures that the public is provided complete and accurate information.

Who we are:

Stefanie Kirby, County Clerk
Karen Phillips, Recording Deputy
Troleda Buxton, Election Deputy

Baker County Clerk
1995 Third Street Suite 150
Baker City, OR 97814
Phone: (541) 523-8207
Fax: (541) 523-8240


Ballot Dropsites

Ballots must be received by 8pm on Election Day.
Baker County Clerk's Office
1995 Third St Suite 150
Baker City, OR 97814
Monday-Friday 8am-5pm
Election Day 7am-8pm
Drive Up Drop Site
County Courthouse
Fourth St Driveway
Baker City, OR 97814
7-days a week 24 hours
Election Day until 8pm
Community Connection of Baker County
2810 Cedar Street
Baker City, OR 97814
Monday-Friday 8am-12:30pm, 1:30pm-4pm
Election Day 8am-12:30pm, 1:30pm-8pm
Halfway City Hall
155-B E. Record Street
Halfway, OR 97834
Monday-Thursday 7am-10:45am, 11:45am-4pm
Election Day 8am-8pm
Huntington City Hall
50 Adams St. E
Huntington, OR 97907
Monday-Friday 9-12pm, 1pm-4pm
Election Day 9am-8pm
Richland City Hall
89 Main Street
Richland, OR 97870
Monday-Friday 8am-12pm
Election Day 8am-12pm, 1pm-8pm

Baker County Clerk
1995 Third Street Suite 150
Baker City, OR 97814
Phone: (541) 523-8207
Fax: (541) 523-8240



Election Archive

Faxing In Your Ballot
Oregon now allows a long-term absent elector serving in the Armed Forces, along with their dependants, to cast a ballot using a facsimile machine. The ballot must be received in our office by 8:00 p.m. on election day. The ballot will not be counted without an accompanying form SEL 531; along with the signed return identification envelope that matches the elector's most current signature on file. The SEL 531 form may be found at:

Please send to Baker County Clerk, Stefanie Kirby at
Fax: 541-523-8240.
Phone: 541-523-8207

Helpful Election Websites
Click HERE to visit the Oregon Secretary of State Elections Division website.

Visit My Vote HERE! At My Vote you can check your registration status, update your registration, find a ballot drop site and track your ballot.

Baker County Clerk
1995 Third Street Suite 150
Baker City, OR 97814
Phone: (541) 523-8207
Fax: (541) 523-8240


Index Search

Click here to search the Clerks Index.



To obtain a marriage license each applicant must be at least eighteen (18) years of age (or 17 years-old with parent or legal guardian's approval).

There is a three (3) day waiting period before a license may be used and is valid for sixty (60) days after the effective date. THE LICENSE IS VALID ONLY IN THE STATE OF OREGON.

Each applicant must appear in person and bring a valid driver's license. If you do not have a valid driver's license please call us regarding acceptable forms of identification.

There are no blood tests required.

The cost for the license is $54.00.

Register Declaration of Domestic Partnership

Marriage License Application

Baker County Clerk
1995 Third Street Suite 150
Baker City, OR 97814
Phone: (541) 523-8207
Fax: (541) 523-8240



The following information needs to be brought to the County Clerks Office to obtain a passport:

1. Completed Passport Application (DSP-11);
2. Appropriate Fees;
3. Two Current passport photographs (2"x2");
4. Valid Driver's license or identification card (Children under 18 can use parent's ID), and
5. Birth Certificate (Hospital Record is NOT acceptable).

To obtain a passport application, click here.

Related Links:

Baker County Clerk
1995 Third Street Suite 150
Baker City, OR 97814
Phone: (541) 523-8207
Fax: (541) 523-8240


Property Tax Appeals

Petitions to the Board of Property Tax Appeals may be obtained below, or at our office

Property Tax Training Calendar

Property Tax Appeal Information

Baker County Clerk
1995 Third Street Suite 150
Baker City, OR 97814
Phone: (541) 523-8207
Fax: (541) 523-8240


Fee Schedule

Recording fees for many documents have increased by $40.00 due to Oregon Housing Alliance Bill (HB 4007 - Housing Alliance Tax).
The limited number of documents exempt from the Housing Alliance tax fee are as follows:
-Instruments that are otherwise exempt from recording fees under any provision of law.
-Any satisfaction of judgement or certificate of satisfaction of judgment.
-Internal county government instrument not otherwise charged a recording or filing fee.
-Affidavits of Annual Assessment (mining claims).
-Warrants issued by the Employment Department pursuant to ORS 657.396, 657.642 and 657.646.
-A certified copy of a judgment, a lien record abstract as described in ORS 18.170 or a satisfaction of judgment noticed by recordation of a lien record abstract.
-Instruments presented for recording by the Department of Revenue.
The fee chart belows represents the cost for recording a one page, one transaction document. Multiple transactions are $5.00 per additional page. Documents submitted with insufficient fees will be returned unrecorded. *New fee applies to all mining documents except "Affidavit of Annual Assessment (Proof of labor)". If you have any questions regarding these changes please do not hesitate to call the Clerk's Office at 541-523-8207.

Records Research Fees (ORS 205.320)
$3.75 Search per document
$.25 Copy of same per page
$3.75 Certifications
$.25 Copy of same per page
$2.50 Fax 1st page
$.50 Each additonal page
Recording Fees Effective


Past Clerks

County Clerk Dates Served
S. A. Clarke    Oct 1862-July 1864
Charles M. Frosty    Aug 1864-July 1866
Joseph H. Shinn    Aug 1866-July 1870
Luther B. Ison    Aug 1870-June 1876
G. W. Parker    Aug 1876-June 1880
T. D. Parker    Aug 1880-?
Frank Geddes    circa. 1899
Antha Combs, Jr.    ?-Jan1945
Lloyd Rea    Jan 1945-Jan 1951
Grant Young    Jan 1951-Dec 1960
Dennis Fuller    Dec 1960-Jan 1975
Anita Johnson    Jan 1975-Jan 1982
Julia Woods    Jan 1982-Nov 2000
Tami Green    Dec 2000-Jan 2015
Cindy Carpenter    Jan 2015-Dec 2018
Stefanie Kirby    Jan 2019-present